If you do not own a car or prefer being driven through Los Angeles, you may have chosen a transportation network company (TNC) also known as a rideshare company, known for convenience and cost-effectiveness. Uber and Lyft have strict guidelines for a car’s condition, a driver’s record, and adequate insurance.
California has enacted effective laws to protect drivers and passengers, but what happens if you are a passenger and your rideshare driver is involved in an accident? Where do you turn for compensation? Our experienced car accident attorneys could answer all your questions about Uber/Lyft/rideshare accidents in Burbank. Call today to learn more.
Requirements for Rideshare Drivers
Drivers must be trained and submit to criminal background checks. Uber, Lyft, and other rideshare companies require strict maintenance conducted by an approved mechanic at least every 50,000 miles, and only certain types of vehicles will pass muster. Additionally, California Code § 10.5-7449 strictly prohibits consuming alcohol while on call or transporting passengers.
All Uber, Lyft, food delivery, and other rideshare drivers in California must carry $1 million in insurance for liability and uninsured motorist coverage. Rideshare companies provide insurance that meets California’s mandates, but it is only applicable when the driver is on call or transporting passengers. Once a passenger’s ride ends and the driver is back on call, $50,000 per person and $100,000 per occurrence coverage remains.
Uber and Lyft also provide comprehensive collision insurance coverage, but drivers must also carry collision insurance on personal policies. The rideshare policies come with a $2,500 deductible that the driver must pay. Once the driver turns off the rideshare app and is not on call, insurance coverage reverts to the driver’s personal insurance. If another motorist crashes into the rideshare vehicle, causing an accident, a third insurer enters the picture.
Injured passengers are often confused about which insurance company is responsible for their claim, and insurers are famous for suggesting they are not liable. Insurers also commonly propose unacceptably low settlement offers. Our attorneys have vast experience negotiating with insurance companies and extracting sizeable settlements to reimburse passengers and others injured in Uber, Lyft, or other rideshare crashes in Burbank.
Personal Injury Lawsuits Against Rideshare Companies and Their Drivers
When insurance company negotiations break down, passengers injured by the driver or company’s negligence can file personal injury lawsuits seeking compensation for losses beyond the money they owe for medical care. Any car accident can be devastating, but one in which a person is helpless because they were not in control to avert it is worse. If the driver breaks a traffic law, drinks while driving, is distracted responding to the rideshare app, or did not maintain the vehicle and it malfunctions, attorneys could seek compensation for:
- Property loss
- Wages that would have been paid if the injured party had not missed work because of the accident
- Current and future medical and rehabilitative care, prescriptions, and necessary medical devices
- Physical, emotional, and psychological damage, including grappling with disfigurement, depression, paralysis, and recurring pain
Settlements and damages awards are not one-size-fits-all. Injured passengers should work with an attorney who understands the value to them after an accident in Burbank involving an Uber, Lyft, or other rideshare service.
Let Our Rideshare Accident Attorneys Seek Compensation for You
Transportation network companies are a phenomenon of the 21st century for good reason. They provide economical and convenient rides to a variety of passengers. Accidents are not extremely common, but when they occur, you can get help in pursuing suitable compensation.
Our team believes you should not suffer through this ordeal alone. Call us now after an Uber, Lyft, or rideshare accident in Burbank.